Motherly Instincts

So, I’m browsing YouTube, as I normally do when I’m bored, it’s midnight and Netflix has lost its appeal for the day. I love watching funny cat and dog videos. Dog, Nemo and Alf tend to just stare at me while I laugh loudly. I swear, they are all thinking the same thing. “If this idiot didn’t fill our food bowls…”

Every once in a while, I’ll come across a cute video like I did tonight. This one was simply kittens meowing, which I thought had to be the most adorable thing in the world. I was wrong. As soon as the video started playing, all three perked their ears up. 30 seconds in, each of them were exploring the living room, searching for the poor kitten who obviously needed their attention.

This isn’t the first time this has happened. A few nights ago, my husband and I were watching Game of Thrones. He’s horribly behind on it, so we were watching the episode where Craster (Kraster?) leaves his baby boy out in the snow for the White Walkers. (sorry if that’s a spoiler for anyone.) The baby on the tv starts crying, and suddenly, Dog and Nemo are up on their feet, searching for the baby. Nemo jumped up by the TV and was sniffing it. Dog prowled around below. Both kept looking at us like “Do you not hear the baby? Get up you idiots and help him.”

Despite both of my kitties being inside for most of their lives and never having litters of their own, they both have motherly instincts. I love that.

Leave a Reply

